
Prohibited Activities 
 

Some registered sex offenders cannot live 

within 500 feet of a primary, secondary, or 
high school, child day center or public park that 

shares a border with a school and is regularly 
used for school activities. 

Some registered sex offenders are prohibited 

from "loitering" within 100 feet of the 
premises of any place he knows or has reason 

to know is: 
A primary, secondary or high school 

A child day program,  

OR 
For the purpose of having any contact 

whatsoever with children that are not in his 
custody, of any place owned or operated by a 

locality that is a playground, athletic field or 

facility, or gymnasium. 
Tier III Offenders (formerly Sexually Violent 

offenders) cannot enter or be present during 
school hours, and during school-related or 

school-sponsored activities upon any public or 
private elementary or secondary school or child 

day center property. 

Tier III Offenders cannot be on any property 
(public or private) during hours when such 

property is solely being used by a public or 
private elementary or secondary school for a 

school-related or school-sponsored activity.  

Tier III Offenders cannot enter a school bus. 
Tier III Offenders cannot operate a taxi cab 

for the transportation of passengers for hire. 
Any person required to register with the “Sex 

Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry” 
is prohibited from working for any 

Transportation Network Company (Uber, Lyft, 

etc.). 
 

The laws that govern a sex offender’s 
residence, work location, and proximity to 

schools and daycare facilities can be found in 

full under the following statutes: 
 

 
 

18.2-370.2 – Sex offenses prohibiting proximity 

to children; penalty 
18.2-370.3 – Sex offenses prohibiting residing in 

proximity to children; penalty 
18.2-370.4 – Sex offenses prohibiting working on 

school property; penalty 

18.2-370.5 – Sex offenses prohibiting entry onto 
school property; penalty 

46.2-2099.49 - Sex Offenders prohibited from 
operating TNC Vehicles (Uber, Lyft, etc.) 

46.2 -2011.33 –Tier III Sex Offenders prohibited 

   from operating Taxi Cabs 
      

Always review the entire form (SP-236 or SP-
236A) for accuracy BEFORE signing. If 
information on the SP-236 is not correct, advise 
the official completing the form that it needs to 
be corrected. Providing false information on the 
SP-236 may result in being charged with §18.2-
472.1 of the Code of Virginia. This is punishable 
as a Class 5 or 6 Felony, or a Class 1 
Misdemeanor, as applicable. 

 
 
 
 
If you have any questions or concerns about 
your Registry requirements, contact the 
appropriate Sex Offender Investigative Unit 
Trooper or Compliance Officer, or your 
Probation/Parole Officer prior to contacting the 
Sex Offender Registry Helpdesk at 804-674-
2825.  The Helpdesk is available Monday to 
Friday 8:15am – 4:45pm.    

 
More information available at: 
http://sexoffender.vsp.virginia.gov/sor/in
dex.html 

 
The Virginia State Police is not liable for 
information provided from the helpdesk.  

 

 

 

Sex Offender and Crimes 
Against Minors Registry 

Guidelines 
 

 
 

Virginia State Police 
Sex Offender Registry 

(SOR) Helpdesk 

7700 Midlothian Turnpike 
N. Chesterfield, VA 23235 

804-674-2825 

 
E-mailing the SOR 

Go to:  
http://sexoffender.vsp.virginia.gov/sor/ 

Click on “Comments” located on the left 

column, then type and submit your 
message. 

 
This brochure does not constitute a 
comprehensive listing of all laws and 

regulations for the Sex Offender Registry.  
Failure to receive this publication does not 

constitute a defense to any criminal charge or 
other requirement or prohibition imposed upon 
a person for whom registration is required; nor 
shall any civil liability attach to a governmental 

entity involved in the development or 
publication of any such document. 

 
 

http://sexoffender.vsp.virginia.gov/
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/6/6f/Seal_of_Virginia.svg


Sex Offender Registry Guidelines 
 

It is your responsibility to register, in 
person, with the Virginia State Police, or your 
local law enforcement agency within the 
jurisdiction you reside and submit a new SP-
236 registration form with prints in the 
following instances:  

 

Every person required to register shall 
register in person within 3 days of his 
release from confinement in a state, local or 
juvenile correctional facility, in a state civil 
commitment program for sexually violent 
predators or, if a sentence of confinement is 
not imposed, within three days of suspension 
of the sentence or in the case of a juvenile of 
disposition. 
Within 3 days of receiving an additional 
conviction or suspended sentence for a 
charge listed on the back of Form SP-236.  

Within 3 days of a change in residence or 
mailing address within Virginia, including if 
you become homeless.  

Within 10 days prior to change of 
residence if moving outside of Virginia.  

Within 3 days of a change in employment 
regardless if employment is in or outside of 
Virginia. This applies if you change jobs, or 
become unemployed, retired, disabled, laid-
off, or start or end a second, or more jobs.  

Within 3 days of release from a       
correctional facility, jail, or com-munity    
supervision (probation and parole).  

Within 3 days of legally changing your 
name through a court order.  
Within 3 days of a change in owned vehicle 
registration information (includes changing 
license plate numbers, buying, trading, 
selling or otherwise disposing of any vehicle 
you own or have your name on the title). 
This includes watercraft and aircraft. 

 

Within 3 days of enrolling in, quitting, or 
graduating from an institution of higher learning.  
This includes any post-secondary school, trade 
school, or professional institution of higher 
education.  

Within 30 minutes of any change in, or 
addition to, your email address information, any 
instant message or chat screen name, or other 
Internet electronic communication name or 
identity information that you use or intend to 
use.  This can be done electronically by 
submitting the information by e-mail to 
sor.electronic@vsp.virginia.gov. The 
instructions for submitting information 
electronically are listed on the SOR page under 
the “Change of Electronic Communication” Tab.  
This may also be done in person with a local law 
enforcement agency where your residence is 
located, by submitting an SP-236, with the new 
information, to the Sex Offender Registry.  

Every 2 years commencing with the date of 
initial registration, submit to be photographed 
by the Virginia State Police or your local law 
enforcement agency.  
 
Registered sex offenders who are classified as 
Tier I and Tier II (formerly Sexual) must re-
register with the authorities once per year. A 
member of the Virginia State Police Sex 
Offender Unit will complete this registration in 
person.  No letter will be mailed. 
Registered sex offenders who are classified as 
Tier III must re-register with the authorities 
every 90 days.  A conviction of failure to 
register will change this to every 30 days.   

 
Certified letters will be mailed to Tier III 
offenders at the address listed on the Sex 
Offender Registry Website.  The letters 
(SP-236A) will be mailed to the offender 
based on the following schedule: 
 
 
 

If you register every 90 days, you will 
receive your letter beginning on your birth 
month and then every third month after 
and according to the date schedule.  
(See below) 
If you register every 30 days you will 
register according to the date schedule 
each month. (See Below) 

 

Date Schedule 
Last name beginning “A-L” will be mailed on 
the 1st of each month and will be required to 
be returned by the 15th. 
 
Last name beginning “M-Z” will be mailed on 
the 16th of each month and will be required 
to be returned by the last day of the month. 

 
 

International Travel 
 

A registrant is required to inform their 
residence jurisdiction of any intended travel 
outside of the U.S. at least 21 days prior 
to that travel. Information you need to 
provide is found at: 
http://www.smart.gov/international_
travel.htm  
 
For a copy of the United States Marshal 

Service - International travel form, use the 

following link: 

https://app.alea.gov/Documents/Forms

/SOForm-InternationalTravel.pdf 

Once you provide the information to your 
appropriate law enforcement official, state 
trooper, compliance officer, or 
probation/parole officer, it will be 
transmitted to the United States Marshals 
Service.     
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